Our Board

Mental Health Australia is governed by a Board of up to 10 Directors. The Board must consist of at least three and up to eight Elected Directors; and up to two Board Appointed Directors. 

Interim Chair – Ms Robyn Kruk AO

Board Appointed Director
Robyn’s experience incorporates positions as director-general of state agencies including the New South Wales Department of Premier and Cabinet, New South Wales Health, and NSW Parks and Wildlife. She was the Secretary of the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts, and established and worked as the inaugural CEO of the National Mental Health Commission.  She is currently a member of a number of state government boards and statutory bodies including the NSW Clinical Excellence Commission, Agency for Clinical Innovation, and NSW Ambulance.  She chairs the Western Australian Partnership Forum.  In 2005, Robyn was appointed to the Order of Australia as a Member for service to public administration. In 2018, Robyn was appointed Officer of the Order of Australia for service to public administration, particularly through mental health reform, and other distinguished service.


Dr Jennifer Bowers

Elected Director
Jennifer is the CEO at Rural & Remote Mental Health. She has professorial academic appointments at two Queensland universities and has lead the development and implementation of innovative mental health, wellbeing and suicide prevention programs focused solely on the needs of Australians living and working in rural and remote areas. As CEO of Rural and Remote Mental Health, Jennifer is leading the Centre in spearheading research, design and delivery of proactive awareness-raising, prevention and early interventions into the unique circumstances and challenges faced by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and communities; those working in the mining and resource sector particularly FIFO workers; and Australians involved in, and connected to, farming and agriculture.


Mr Jeremy Coggin
Elected Director

Jeremy has worked on boards with a mental health mission since 2012. Starting at ARAFMI Victoria, he played a key board role in their merger with Mind Australia to enhance the family and carer value proposition and service. He is currently a board member at Mind Australia and also president of Mental Health Carers Australia, the only national group solely concerned with advocacy on behalf of mental health carers. Jeremy is also a specialist in embedding the customer in strategy and implementation through mobilising a workforce who innovate. He is a multi-disciplinary professional with expertise and qualifications in business, digital, marketing, design and facilitation. He has over 19 years of management consulting experience and has worked in senior digital and management roles at Areeba, Deloitte Digital, and CPA Australia. With personal experience as a mental health carer, Jeremy is passionate about representing the voice of carers in the changing state and national environments.


Ms Georgie Harman
Elected Director

Georgie was appointed as the CEO of beyondblue in May 2014 following three years as Deputy CEO of the National Mental Health Commission. Before that she worked at the Commonwealth Department of Health where she had responsibility for mental health, suicide prevention, substance misuse, tobacco, cancer and chronic disease policy and programs. Before Canberra, she was a member of the executive team at the NT Department of Health and Community Services and before that the CEO of the Bobby Goldsmith Foundation, a NSW-based HIV/AIDS organisation.


Ms Robyn Hunter
Elected Director

Robyn is the CEO of Mind Australia. Robyn has 25 years’ experience spanning senior roles in corporate strategy and planning, operational management, project management and delivery, and management and purchasing of health care in the private sector. Robyn was formerly the CEO of Multiple Sclerosis Limited, a position she held since March 2013. Previously, Robyn held senior roles at Medibank Private for a decade. Her earlier career encompassed management of rehabilitation service delivery in the public and private sector, and ten years’ clinical experience as a physiotherapist in Australia and Canada.


Dr Kym Jenkins
Elected Director

Kym has been the President of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists (RANZCP) since May 2017. She has held a range of roles as a Consultant Psychiatrist in both the public and private sectors. She is currently Medical Director of the Victorian Doctors Health Program, runs a small private practice and is an adjunct Senior Lecturer at Monash University. Kym has had extensive involvement in psychiatry-related medical education, both within the RANZCP and externally. She has had roles within the College as an accredited examiner, trainer and assessor and has served as the Chair of the Committee for Examinations; Chair of the Fellowships Attainment Committee and the Deputy Chair of the Board of Education. She has also been involved in the planning and development of the (competency-based) Fellowship program since its inception and has chaired several of its working parties. Dr Jenkins was a member of General Council from 2005-2010, and was elected to the College’s inaugural Board in 2013.


Ms Janne McMahon OAM
Elected Director

Janne has a lived experience of mental illness and has been representing the views, needs and perspectives of mental health consumers at the national level, state level and local level since 1997. She started her advocacy when the Bupa and Ramsay Health SA undertook discussions about how to better support consumers in their homes. This was known as ‘Hospital in the Home’ and became the community support in the private hospital sector. She established the Ramsay Health SA Consumer and Carer Advisory Committee, a model which has been used in the private sector. Janne founded the Private Mental Health Consumer Carer Network (Australia) in 2002. The Network became a Company in June 2016 and has established itself since inception as a representative voice for people with a lived experience of mental illness and families.


Ms Carmel Tebbutt
Elected Director
Carmel Tebbutt was appointed to the Mental Health Australia Board in June 2019. She is the current CEO of the Mental Health Coordinating Council, the peak body for community managed mental health organisations in NSW. Prior to this, Carmel was CEO of Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand, and was a Member of New South Wales Parliament for 17 years serving in both the Legislative Council and as the Member for Marrickville. Carmel was appointed to the Ministry in 1999 and held many portfolios including Health, Education, Community Services and the Environment. In 2008, she was the first woman to be appointed Deputy Premier in NSW.