MEDIA RELEASE

Mental Health Australia

3 August 2017 | For immediate release

Mental Health Australia welcomes appointments of new National Mental Health Commissioners

Mental Health Australia would like to welcome and congratulate the five new appointees to the National Mental Health Commission and current commissioner Mrs Lucinda Brogden on her appointment as Chair.

Speaking from the Northern Territory on his way to East Arnhem Land for the Garma festival starting on Friday, Mental Health Australia CEO Frank Quinlan said today's announcement is a reminder of what has been achieved already, and will be welcomed by the sector.

"Firstly, I'd like to congratulate Professor Allan Fels on his excellent work as foundation Chair of the Commission in raising the profile of mental health in the broader community, and highlighting the need for governments to be stronger," said Mr Quinlan.

"Allan and his colleagues have established the Commission's reputation as a source of independent mental health advice to government, since it was formed in 2012."

"I would also like to congratulate outgoing commissioners former Mental Health Australia Chair, The Hon Rob Knowles, Professor Pat Dudgeon and Ms Nicole Gibson for their extensive contributions." said Mr Quinlan.

"The National Mental Health Commission plays a crucial role in the advancement of mental health policy and practice, and will take on a new and enhanced role in monitoring the implementation of the soon to be released Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan."

"We welcome two new indigenous commissioners, in Professor Ngiare Brown and Professor Helen Milroy, and a new youth commissioner in Mr Samuel Hockey, and on a personal note I'm looking forward to working with Lucy Brogden and all the commissioners as we move into this next phase of mental health reform and implementation."

Allan Fels and Lucy Brogden will act as Co-Chairs for the next six months, before Professor Fels steps down from the role.

The National Mental Health Commissioners are as follows: Professor Allan Fels AO – Co-Chair, Mrs Lucinda Brogden – Co-Chair, Professor Ian Hickie AM – reappointed, Ms Jackie Crowe – reappointed, Dr Peggy Brown – appointed, Professor Harvey Whiteford – new appointment, Professor Ngiare Brown – new appointment, Professor Wendy Cross – new appointment, Professor Helen Milroy – new appointment, Mr Samuel Hockey – new appointment

Media Contact: Lachlan Searle – 0488 076 088



