## **MEDIA RELEASE**



## 11 December 2011

## **Appointment of Mental Health Commissioners**

The Mental Health Council of Australia (MHCA) welcomes the appointment of Australia's first national Mental Health Commissioners. These eight new Commissioners join the newly formed Mental Health Commission under the Chairmanship of Professor Allan Fels AO.

"Today marks a new chapter. Today the mental health system will be held to account for how it meets the needs of ordinary Australians, as this new Mental Health Commission reports on the performance of all Australian Governments," said Frank Quinlan, CEO of the MHCA.

"The Minister for Mental Health, Mark Butler, has appointed a diverse and expert group of Commissioners to guide the new national Mental Health Commission and steer the new Road Map to reform over the coming years," said Frank Quinlan.

"The new Mental Health Commissioner gathers mental health consumers and carers, professionals, advocates and community-based experts. The broad experience and expertise of this group means they can start their important work quickly."

"The creation of a national Mental Health Commission is part of the Government's ongoing investment and reform agenda in mental health. The establishment of the Commission reflects the Government's commitments to driving accountability, transparency and broader policy engagement and will help shape and direct mental health policy for the future."

"The Mental Health Council of Australia looks forward to working with the new Mental Health Commission and its Commissioners," Mr Quinlan said.

The eight Commissioners are:

- Mr Peter Bicknell;
- Ms Jackie Crowe;
- Dr Pat Dudgeon:
- · Professor Ian Hickie AM;
- Mr Rob Knowles AO;
- · Ms Janet Meagher AM;
- · Ms Samantha Mostyn; and
- Professor Ian Webster AO.

Media Contact: Simon Tatz on 0402 613 745 or 02 – 6285 3100